Skip to content

McNeese Names 2018-2019 Honors College Recipients

April 23, 2018 | McNeese Public Relations

Twenty-eight students have been selected for the McNeese State University Honors College for the 2018-2019 academic year, according to Dr. Scott Goins, honors college director.

Founded in 2000, the McNeese Honors College is designed to attract students with strong academic records who desire an alternative course of instruction at the college level, said Goins.

The Honors College provides scholarships that cover tuition and fees, a housing stipend, a meal plan and an allowance for books, as well as providing many educational opportunities.

Criteria for admission includes: an excellent high school record with a minimum GPA of 3.4; a composite score of 27 or higher on the ACT or a combined reading and math score of 1210 on the SAT; a written essay and an interview with the Honors College Admissions Committee; three letters of recommendation; and acceptance by McNeese for enrollment in the fall 2018 semester.

The Honors College students are as follows: Shelby Powell, DeRidder; Katie Mhire, Grand Chenier; Benjamin Martin, Jackson Person and Richard Robicheaux, Jennings; Claire Adams, Alexis Bauer, Sarah Coker, Kaylee Cormier, Jake Fontenot, Katelyn Foreman, Barbara Joy Fuqua, Patrick Juneau II, William Kemink, Toby Newell, Victoria O’Quinn and Maggie Rowland, Lake Charles; Gordan Brant Boone, Leesville; Michaela Carroll and Cullen Johnson, Pitkin; Abigail Fruge, Brianda Rubi Gill and Joseph Terro, Sulphur; Madison Novak, Hamshire, Texas; Kaylee Kaufman, Orange, Texas; Alayis Seneca, The Woodlands, Texas; Cederic Demoulin, Salzburg, Austria; and Ghalib Siaka, Lagos, Nigeria.