Skip to content

2018 McNeese Engineering Banquet Awards

April 23, 2018 | McNeese Public Relations

Several McNeese State University students and a faculty member were recognized by the College of Engineering and Computer Science at the 2018 Engineering Banquet.

Engineering students receiving awards were: Jennifer Doucet, from Grand Coteau, American Society of Mechanical Engineers Award recognizing a mechanical engineering junior for academic and professional excellence; Erin Bryson, from Lake Charles, Association for Computing Machinery Award for academic excellence and student leadership; Huanrong (Faye) Ouyang, from China, American Institute of Chemical Engineers Award given to a chemical engineering student with the highest GPA; Saurabh Basnet, from Nepal, the Fugro South Award given to a civil engineering student who has excelled in geotechnical studies; Mason Knighton, from Lake Charles, American Society of Civil Engineers Award given to a civil engineering student for outstanding achievement and commitment to the ASCE student chapter; and Brandon Lewis, from Lake Charles, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Award recognizing a senior electrical engineering student for exceptional student leadership and academic excellence.

Dr. LiDr. Zhuang Li, associate professor of mechanical engineering, was named the 2018 recipient of the O.C. Karkalits Faculty Excellence Award sponsored by the McNeese Industrial Advisory Board. This award – named in honor of the late Dr. O.C. Karkalits who served 34 years as the college’s first dean – is given to a faculty member from the College of Engineering and Computer Science who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, scholarship or service, positively impacted students, colleagues and the McNeese community, and has contributed to the goals and mission of the college. The IAB includes representatives from area local industries that provide support and assistance to the college.