Skip to main content

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate


Welcome to the McNeese State University Faculty Senate



Mission

The Faculty Senate, as representative body for the Faculty of McNeese State University, exercises responsibility for advising administration in matters of academic freedom and standards, curriculum, long-range planning, budgetary planning, University organization and administration, and general faculty welfare. The senate shall promote the academic and ancillary affairs of the institution and shall improve communications throughout the University, while at the same time seeking to further the professional, scholarly, and financial interests of the faculty. In order to promote maximum participation of the faculty in university governance, the Faculty Senate will be empowered to have a representative on all university-wide standing committees.
 
The Faculty Senate consists of faculty members elected by the faculties of the Colleges of Business, Education, Engineering and Computer Science, Liberal Arts, Science, Nursing and Health Professions, and the Frazar Memorial Library. Each College shall select the appropriate number of members as designated by the Senate By‑Laws.

BYLAWS OF THE FACULTY SENATE - Revised June 2017.pdf

CHARTER OF THE FACULTY SENATE - 2012 Revision.pdf




Executive Committee Officers
2017-2018


President
Dr. Vipin Menon
College of Engineering and Computer Science
menon@mcneese.edu

Vice President
Dr. Jacob Borden
College of Engineering and Computer Science
jborden@mcneese.edu

Secretary
Dr. Kathlene Williams
College of Nursing and Health Professions
kwilliams@mcneese.edu

Record Keeper
Dr. Sonya Hidalgo
College of Nursing and Health Professions
shidalgo1@mcneese.edu

Member-at-Large
Dr. Amber Hale
College of Science and Agriculture
ahale@mcneese.edu

Member-at-Large
Dr. Elizabeth Bryant
College of Liberal Arts
ebryant@mcneese.edu

Member-at-Large
Dr. Muhammad Haque
College of Liberal Arts
mhaque@mcneese.edu

Advisor (non-voting member)
Dr. Matthew A. Butkus
College of Liberal Arts
mbutkus@mcneese.edu