Skip to content

Javascript Disabled. To take full advantage of the new McNeese Website, please enable javascript or change browser options

Faculty Senate

We Change Lives

Welcome to the McNeese State University Faculty Senate


The Faculty Senate, as representative body for the Faculty of McNeese State University, exercises responsibility for advising administration in matters of academic freedom and standards, curriculum, long-range planning, budgetary planning, University organization and administration, and general faculty welfare. The senate shall promote the academic and ancillary affairs of the institution and shall improve communications throughout the University, while at the same time seeking to further the professional, scholarly, and financial interests of the faculty. In order to promote maximum participation of the faculty in university governance, the Faculty Senate will be empowered to have a representative on all university-wide standing committees.
The Faculty Senate consists of faculty members elected by the faculties of the Colleges of Business, Education, Engineering and Computer Science, Liberal Arts, Science, Nursing and Health Professions, and the Frazar Memorial Library. Each College shall select the appropriate number of members as designated by the Senate By‑Laws.

BYLAWS OF THE FACULTY SENATE – Revised June 2017.pdf


Executive Committee Officers

Dr. Vipin Menon
College of Engineering and Computer Science

Vice President
Professor Kathlene Williams
College of Nursing and Health Professions

Professor Sonya Hidalgo
College of Nursing and Health Professions

Record Keeper
Professor Christa Bell
College of Liberal Arts

Professor Melinda Melton
College of Science and Agriculture

Dr. Muhammad Haque
College of Liberal Arts

Consultant to the Executive Committee
Dr. Mark Wygoda
College of Science and Agriculture