Skip to content

McNeese to Honor 1969 Golden Scholars at Commencement

May 3, 2019 | McNeese Public Relations

McNeese State University’s Class of 1969 will be honored during the annual celebration of the McNeese Alumni Association’s Golden Scholars Society on Friday and Saturday, May 10-11.

To share in this celebration, the Class of 1969 has invited all previous Golden Scholars inductees to participate, according to Stephanie Clark, McNeese assistant director for alumni affairs.

“This is one of our favorite events that the McNeese Alumni Association sponsors. It’s truly amazing to meet our Golden Scholars, visit with them and hear their stories about campus life,” said Clark. “We enjoy spending the weekend reminiscing and celebrating all that they have accomplished in their 50 years since graduation.”

On Friday morning, the graduates will reunite at the University President’s House for a reception. Later that evening, they will move to the Doland Field House for a dinner and an induction and pinning ceremony.

On Saturday, the 1969 graduates will don yellow robes and march in spring commencement at 10 a.m. in Burton Coliseum with the spring Class of 2019.

Those Golden Scholars attending are: Janice Areno (’69), Sulphur; Col. Gordon Brewer (’69), San Antonio, Texas; Carol Cannon (’67), Lake Charles; Wilda Chelette (’64, ’78), Lake Charles; Dr. Phyllis Cuevas (’61, ’73, ‘76), Lake Charles; Dr. Spence Cuevas (’75, ’80), Lake Charles; Linda Cunningham (’70, ’73), Kingwood, Texas; Pat Cunningham (’69, ’73), Kingwood, Texas; Benny Davis (’69, ’75), Tyler, Texas; Darlene Davis (’72), Tyler, Texas; Coleen Farabough (’69), Shreveport; Anita Griffiths (’69), Kinder; Peggy Guillory (’69, ’75), Lake Charles; Betty Harrison (’69), Lake Charles; Ron Hayes (’69, ’71), Lake Charles; the Rev. Johnny Johnson (’69), DeRidder; Linda Johnson (’90, ’03), DeRidder; Bill Koehl (’69), Lake Charles; Maj. Kelly McRight (’62) Lake Charles; Annette Norman (’69, ’95), Lake Charles; Bill Ross (’69), Lake Charles; Lula Singletary (’69, ’77), Iowa; John Smith (’69, ’74), Roanoke; Richard Stutes (’69), Lake Charles; Chris Verret (’69), Lafayette; Helen Vincent (’64), Lake Charles; Linda White (’68, ’72), Lake Charles.