Skip to content

McNeese Beta Gamma Sigma Initiates and Student Awards for College of Business

May 12, 2018 | McNeese Public Relations

Twenty-seven business students have been inducted into the McNeese State University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma Scholastic Business Honor Society.

Lake Charles business leader Rick Richard, president of the Empire of the SEED, was the guest speaker for the ceremony.
Membership into Beta Gamma Sigma, which stands for honor, wisdom and earnestness respectively, is the highest national academic recognition that an undergraduate or graduate business student can receive. Only the top 10 percent of undergraduates and the top 20 percent of graduate students are invited to join.

Beta Gamma Sigma inductees are: Matthew S. Mayo, Lake Charles, Le T. Nguyen, Hatinh, Vietnam, and Sierra S. O’Pry, Lake Charles, graduate students; Abdulaziz K. Al Katheri, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, Jacee M. Bacon, Elizabeth, Hillary F. Cart, Iota, Joseph L. Conner, Sulphur, Giovanna Floretti, Monsano, Italy, Mary E. McCanless, Lake Charles, John M. Neville, Huntsville, Texas, Madisen D. Smith, Rosepine, Darrell L. Spivey, Tupelo, Mississippi, Trang T. Tran, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, and Hannah J. Valentine, Huntsville, Texas, seniors; and Taylor K. Beeson, Lake Charles, Brett J. Bullard, Lake Charles, Haley E. Bunting, Vinton, Cody A. Caswell, Lake Charles, Faren R. Daigle, Lake Charles, Adele E. Doucet, Sulphur, Ashley M. Fontenot, Ville Platte, Elizabeth E. Gober, Lake Charles, Courtnee C. Green, Youngsville, Jennifer M. Greene, Oberlin, Jailyn R. Papillion, Eunice, Darian N. Seago, Lake Charles, and Shay M. Walker, Iowa, juniors.

Several awards were also presented to both students and faculty at the ceremony.

Joseph Provenzano accepts the Jeff and Rhonda Miller Distinguished Senior in the College of Business Award.Joseph Provenzano, Downers Grove, Illinois, received the Jeff and Rhonda Lee Miller Distinguished Senior in the College of Business Award. Other Miller Distinguished Student Recognition Awards went to Cart, in accounting, Nhat M. Le, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, in finance, Robert B. Fontenot, Sulphur, in general business administration, Neville, in management, and Valentine, in marketing.

The CITGO scholarship recipients were Dillon J. Breaux, Carencro, Caitlyn M. Delhomme, Gueydan, R. Fontenot and Alla Voth, Temirtau, Kazakhstan.

Two faculty members were recognized for their outstanding teaching performance: Dr. Jeanne-Claire Patin, Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics and Dr. Lonnie Turpin, Department of Management, Marketing and Business Administration.

Dr. A. Matiur Rahman, Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics, was recognized for his outstanding research performance.