Skip to content

Kappa Sigma Receives National Fraternity Award For Second Consecutive Year

August 12, 2018 | McNeese Public Relations
Members of the Theta Rho Kappa Sigma chapter stand with all of their awards.

Members of the Theta Rho Kappa Sigma chapter stand with all of their awards.

McNeese State University’s Theta Rho chapter of Kappa Sigma fraternity received nine national awards at the 2018 Kappa Sigma Leadership Conference in New Orleans.

The McNeese fraternity received the coveted the Founders’ Award of Chapter Excellence for the second year in a row. The McNeese chapter was one of 21 chapters among the 320 national chapters to receive this award recognizing outstanding chapter management, achievement and program development.

For the first time in McNeese chapter history, all five Kappa Sigma officers received national individual awards: Austin Pottorff, Sulphur, outstanding grand master; Hunter Misse, Sulphur, outstanding grand master of ceremonies; Levi Friend, Seattle, Washington, outstanding grand procurator; Christopher Ange Jr., Lake Charles, outstanding grand scribe award; and Andres Arias, Lake Charles, outstanding grand treasurer award.

The chapter also received the Greater Cause for Dollars Award for raising $65,000 for philanthropy, the fourth largest amount among national chapters as well as the 100% Ritual Proficiency Award and the Academic Excellence Award for both fall and spring semesters.

Pottorff, past Kappa Sigma president, was also one of 25 students to receive the Dr. John Ryan Scholarship, which goes to a student who demonstrates excellence in academics, campus involvement and fraternity leadership.