Skip to main content

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

Academic and Student Affairs
Date enacted or revised: 
Revised October 2015

The Faculty Senate was established to provide a means for the general faculty to advise and make recommendations regarding the policies of the University curricula and academics. The Senate's goals are to promote the academic and ancillary affairs of the University, to improve communications throughout the University, and to further the interests of the faculty. The Faculty Senate consists of faculty members elected by the faculties of the Colleges of Business, Education, Engineering and Computer Science, Liberal Arts, Science, Nursing and Health Professions, and the Library. Each College shall select the appropriate number of members as designated by the Senate By‑Laws. The officers of the Faculty Senate are the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, who are elected by the Senate members for one year terms. The Senate also has an Executive Committee composed of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and two other councilors at large elected for single‑year terms, and the past president.

Meetings of the Senate are held each month except January, June, July, and August, but special meetings may be called at any time. The Faculty Senate has the following standing committees:

  1. The Committee on Academic Affairs deals with all matters pertaining to teaching, learning, and scholarship, including faculty competence, promotions, admissions, and grade loads.
  2. The Committee on Faculty Affairs considers all matters affecting the general faculty.
  3. The Committee on Committees each year recommends to the Senate faculty representatives to serve on University standing committees.
  4. The Student Affairs Committee deals with student matters and provides communication between faculty and student organizations.
  5. The Teaching Resources Committee.

The Rules Committee handles matters pertaining to the Senate's procedures and may make periodic studies of the Senate to determine its role in the University.

The President of the Senate also has the authority to create special ad hoc committees to deal with matters that do not fall within the jurisdiction of the standing committees.