Skip to main content
Learn More

Women's Studies

Women's Studies

Dr. Janet Allured, Director

Dr. Janet Allured, Director
Women's Studies Program
Room 174, Kaufman Hall
Phone: (337) 475-5304 Fax: (337) 475-5985
jallured@mcneese.edu

Welcome

In the fall of 1999, the McNeese State University Department of History began offering a Women's Studies Concentration, an interdisciplinary academic program requiring 15 hours of course work. This concentration prepares students for many different occupations by enhancing understanding and sensitivity about gender. The recent development of many services geared particularly to women, as well as the opening of fields traditionally closed to women, has expanded work opportunities for which Women's Studies is excellent training. Women's Studies graduates typically work in women's health services, battered women's shelters, human relations, rape counseling services and services for teens, but many find Women's Studies to be applicable in a variety of fields. As with history courses, Women's Studies classes also provide students with the training necessary to succeed in law school and in many other graduate programs, especially social work.


Committee:

The Women's Studies Program and the Juliet Hardtner Women in the Arts and Humanities Endowment is coordinated by a committee of faculty in the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Education at McNeese. For more information about any of the programs or events on this web site, contact Dr. Janet Allured, Director, or one of the committee members listed below:

Dr. Linda Brannon, Dept. of Psychology
lbrannon@laol.net

Dr. Carrie Chrisco, Dept. of Mass Communication
cchrisco@mcneese.edu

Dr. Delma McLeod-Porter, Dept. of Languages
dporter@mcneese.edu

Dr. Judy Hand, Dept. of Music
jhand@mcneese.edu

Ms. Martha Hoskins, Dept. of History
mhoskins@mcneese.edu

Dr. Gay Gomez, Dept. of Social Sciences
ggomez@mcneese.edu

Ms. Meghan Fleming, Dept. of Visual Arts
mfleming@mcneese.edu

Amy Veuleman, Assistant Director of Forensics
aveulema@mcneese.edu

Dr. Rita D. Costello, Director of Freshman and Sophomore English
Department of English and Foreign Languages
(337) 475-5193     rcostello@mcneese.edu