Skip to main content
Side Panel

McNeese Works on Paper Winners

McNeese Works on Paper Winners

photography of a salonsunset photograph
Pictured left: "Salon" - photography by Katherine Armstrong Petty
Pictured right: "Bisti at Sunset" - archival inkjet print by Megan Marcantel
(May 8, 2014) Award winners for the 27th annual McNeese National Works on Paper Exhibition have been selected. This year's competition attracted 668 entries from 223 artists from throughout the United States and is sponsored by the McNeese State University Department of Visual Arts.

Juror Louis Grachos, director of The Contemporary Austin in Austin, Texas, selected seven purchase awards for inclusion in the McNeese Permanent Collection. Grachos also singled out five works for Juror's Mention Awards.

Purchase award winners are: Carol Hayman, Austin, Texas; Megan Hildebrandt, Austin, Texas; Dan Kirchhefer, Topeka, Kansas; Sean Lyman, Springfield, Missouri; Jennifer Nelson, Grand Forks, North Dakota; Marydorsey Wanless, Topeka, Kansas; and Raphael Warshaw, Fairfax, Virgina.

Juror's Mention Awards winners are: Comusina Bouillet, Houston, Texas; Diana Corvelle, Forest Hills, New York; Zoe Hawk, Columbia, Missouri; Kalina Winska, Valdosta, George; and Nicholas Wood, Arlington, Texas.

McNeese visual arts majors Victoria Ridgway, Vinton, and Anna Sprigg, Sulphur, and McNeese visual arts alumni Alex Hoffpauir, Bell City, Megan Marcantel, Kinder, and Katherine Armstrong Petty, Lake Charles, had work selected for the exhibit.

Lake Charles artist, Dominique Olivier, was also represented in the exhibition.

Funding for this year's purchase awards was provided by Bolton Ford, the Lake Charles American Press, the W. Gedge Gayle Sr. family, the Muriel and T.H. Mayes family, the McNeese Student Art Association and McNeese Department of Visual Arts.