Skip to main content

McNeese People Briefs

McNeese People Briefs

(May 8, 2017) Over 20 awards were handed out to both individual students as well as to various sororities and fraternities during the 2017 Greek Awards Banquet at McNeese State University. McNeese has 15 Greek fraternities and sororities on campus.Mr. and Ms. Greek at McNeese

Student awards included: Kristin Hampton, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Ms. Greek 2016-2017; Thaddeus Richard, Pi Kappa Phi, Mr. Greek 2016-2017; Joshua Smith, Alpha Phi Alpha, Greek Scholar of the Year - Fraternity; Katy Petry, Alpha Delta Pi, Greek Scholar of the Year - Sorority; Rebecca Manns, Phi Mu, Greek Adviser of the Year; Amanda Donaldson, Chi Omega, Panhellenic Council Member of the Year; Caleb Prince, Kappa Sigma, Interfraternity Council Member of the Year; Devonte’ Aaron, Alpha Phi Alpha, National Pan-Hellenic Council Member of the Year (Male); and Zaner Delafosse, Zeta Phi Beta, NPHC Member of the Year (Female).

Group awards included: Kappa Sigma fraternity and Pi Kappa Alpha sorority, McNeese Alumni Association Community Service and Philanthropy Award; Alpha Phi Alpha, Greek Week Brotherhood Award; Alpha Delta Pi, Greek Week Sisterhood Award; Alpha Kappa Alpha, Chapter Academic Achievement Award (Highest Chapter GPA); McNeese Panhellenic Association, Highest Council GPA; National Pan-Hellenic Council, Most Active Council Award; Sigma Gamma Rho, Most Improved Sorority; Kappa Alpha Psi, Most Improved Fraternity; Alpha Delta Pi, Most Involved Sorority; Pi Kappa Alpha, Most Involved Fraternity; Kappa Sigma, Fraternity of the Year 2016-2017; and Alpha Delta Pi, Sorority of the Year

Students and faculty from the McNeese Department of Mathematical Sciences recently attended the Louisiana/Mississippi section meeting of the Mathematical Association of America at Millsaps College in Jackson, Miss.

McNeese students won several awards at the meeting: Phat Ngo won third place and Hailey Gilroy won sixth place in the annual Integration Bee (similar to a spelling bee, but doing calculus) while students Gilroy, Ngo, David Guillory and Brit Qualls won third place in the team competition, competing against collegiate teams from throughout Louisiana and Mississippi. Steven Dabelow won second place for his graduate research paper presentation titled “The Stability of Larry Niven’s Ringworld.” Other student presentations included Samantha Courville, “Topics From the Theory of Random Walks,” and Sadie Newell, “Elliptic Curve Cryptography Comparison.” 

Faculty members Dr. Christine Gorton and Dr. Lenny Ornas delivered a workshop session introducing new faculty to “Technology in Undergraduate Education.”

First Place:
First and second place winners of the annual spring poster project for Nursing Research, NURS 390, are: Caleb Blocker, Jasmine Cornett, Alexis Gotreaux and Sara Prudhomme, first place, "Vasectomy and Prostate Cancer Risk"; and Amber Eddy, Whitney Jordan, Joy Ramsey, Rebecca Ramsey and Shri Ravikumar, second place, "Melatonin for Sleep in Children with ASD."

Dr. Henry B. Sirgo, McLeod Endowed Professor at McNeese, and McLeod Endowed Scholar Joseph R. Dronet presented papers at the 2017 Annual Meeting and Conference of the Louisiana Political Science Association at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches. Dronet presented his paper titled "Who Runs for State and National Legislatures?" and Sirgo presented his paper titled ''The League of Women Voters and Section 3 of the Louisiana Declaration of Rights" to the State and Electoral Politics session.

Sirgo also presented a paper titled “The Honorable William L. McLeod Jr. and the Louisiana Constitution of 1974,” at a session of the 2017 meeting of the Southwestern Social Science Association in Austin, Texas. Sirgo also served as discussant for the session Politics and Policy in the American States and chaired the Constitutionalism in Theory and Reality session.