Skip to main content

McNeese Bands to Host Honor Band Weekend

McNeese Bands to Host Honor Band Weekend

The McNeese State University Regional High School Honor Band Weekend is being hosted Feb. 28-March 2 by the McNeese Bands program.

Seventy-nine band members from 24 high schools across Louisiana and Texas have been selected for the honor band. High school band directors nominated over 130 of their best student-musicians, from which 79 students were selected for the honor band, said Dr. Jay Jacobs, conductor of university bands at McNeese.

"These students will participate in full-band rehearsals and master classes from McNeese faculty on their specific instruments, attend the McNeese Wind Symphony concert at 8 p.m. Friday, March 1, in the Shearman Fine Arts Performing Arts Theatre and then the honor band will present a free concert at 3 p.m. Saturday, March 2, in the Shearman Fine Arts Theatre."

John "Jay" Watkins, associate director of bands at the University of Florida, will serve as the honor band clinician/concert conductor.

"We haven't hosted this event since 2009. We plan to continue this as an annual event, providing Louisiana and Texas high school musicians the opportunity to perform with students from across a large region. Students from both states rarely have the chance to perform together," said Jacobs.

"Our goal is to provide an opportunity for these students to perform high-quality wind band music, under the direction of a nationally known university conductor, and recognize the region's most talented high school musicians," added Jacobs.

Participating high school seniors also have the opportunity to audition for McNeese band awards and/or music major scholarships on the first evening of the event.

Louisiana high schools represented include: Barbe High School, DeQuincy High School; East Ascension High School in Gonzales; Ellender Memorial High School in Houma; H.L. Bourgeois High School in Gray; Iowa High School; Jennings High School; Kinder High School; LaGrange High School in Lake Charles; Lake Arthur High School; Leesville High School; Merryville High School; Pickering High School; Pineville High School; Rosepine High School; Sam Houston High School in Moss Bluff; South Beauregard High School in Longville; South LaFourche High School in Galliano; Sulphur High School; Tioga High School; and Westlake High School.

Texas high schools represented include: Buna High School; Kountze High School; and Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School in Orange.

Persons needing accommodations as provided by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the ADA Coordinator at 337-475-5428, voice; 337-475-5960, fax; 337-562-4227, TDD/TTY, hearing impaired; or by email at