Skip to main content


The McNeese State University Alumni Association has donated $25,000 for its McNeese Alumni Scholarship Fund endowed through the McNeese Foundation. Richard Reid, left, vice president of university advancement and executive vice president for the foundation, accepts the donation from Cheryl Fuselier, alumni past president.

Lake Charles businessman Robert Noland has given $724,500 to McNeese State University to establish six endowed rodeo scholarships through the McNeese Foundation.

Lake Charles Coca-Cola Bottling Co. has donated $10,000 to McNeese State University for endowed scholarships for students.

The United Commercial Travelers of America has given a $5,000 donation to the McNeese State University Foundation for the United Commercial Travelers of America Scholarship designated for special education majors. On hand for the presentation are, from left, Lynn Miller, UCTA finance committee member, Dr. Wayne Fetter, dean of the Burton College of Education, and Ricky Blackwell, UCTA finance committee member.

Dr. Lonnie Phelps, head of the management, marketing and business administration department at McNeese State University, presents Samantha Woodstock Duncan with the 2012 Distinguished Senior in the College of Business award. Twenty-one business students and faculty members have been initiated into the McNeese State University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma Scholastic Business Honor Society. Mark Hebert, regional manager for U.S. Sen.

Tiffany Pruitt, a McNeese State University visual arts student from Vinton, won the Outstanding Merit in Photography award at the Juried Student Art Exhibition held in conjunction with the inaugural Academic Summit held recently on the McNeese campus.

Dr. Cheryl Northam, professor of health and human performance at McNeese State University, received the 2012 Honor Award presented by the Southern District of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance at the annual district conference in Orlando, Fla. The Honor Award recognizes meritorious contributions to the fields of physical education, health education, recreation and/or dance or to the profession through such allied fields as science and education.   Northam has served the Southern District AAHPERD, which includes 13 states, in various capacities since 1972, including vice president for the Sport and Leisure Division, chair of the Taylor Dodson Young Professional Award Committee, a member of the W.

Davante Lewis, a Lake Charles sophomore at McNeese State University, is the newest speech and debate national champion on campus.   Lewis won two national championship speaker awards in Public Forum Debate and in Student Congress - students had to debate current national issues in this category - at the recent National Comprehensive Tournament hosted by Pi Kappa Delta in Kansas City, Kan. "It's remarkable to bring home one national title, but bringing home two is really outstanding. I am proud of Davante," said Andy Luster, McNeese assistant director of forensics. McNeese finished 19th out of 68 schools participating in the tournament.

McNeese State University has received the StormReady designation by the National Weather Service (NWS). McNeese is just the second university in Louisiana to receive the StormReady certification.

McNeese State University’s Annual Juried Student Exhibition is currently on display in the Abercrombie Gallery of the Shearman Fine Arts Center through April 20.