Skip to main content

News, Events, and More

Grace Davison has donated $6,000 to McNeese State University through the McNeese Foundation to be divided between the McNeese colleges of business and engineering and engineering technology. At the presentation are, from left, Dr. Mitchell Adrian, business dean, Grace Davison representatives Jennifer Couste, plant controller, and David Rentrop, operations director, and Dr. Nikos Kiritsis, engineering and engineering technology dean. McNEESE PHOTO

McNeese State University’s Pi Zeta chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, has recently inducted 12 students into the society and installed the 2011-2012 officers. Initiates are: Adrienne L. Minor, Beaumont, Texas; Ashley Nicole Menard, Bell City; Devon Richard, Cameron; Amelia D. Abshire, Lakyn Best, Collise J. Dupont, Kristen E. Faulk, Kaitlyn L. O’Donnell and Jodi Lynn Parish, Lake Charles; and Kelsie Neal, Amanda L. Broussard and Sean J. Corbello, Westlake. Officers are: Caitlin Dever, Lake Charles, president; Jazlyn Leger, Church Point, vice president; Lindsey Harmon, Lake Charles, secretary; Menard, treasurer; Lauren Smith, Kinder, historian; and Gabrielle Myers, Lake Charles, public relations officer. Dr.

Over 700 students will receive their diplomas at the McNeese State University spring commencement ceremony set for 10 a.m. Saturday, May 21, at Burton Coliseum. Eight hundred degrees will be awarded to candidates: 50 associate degrees, 593 bachelor's degrees, 149 master's degrees and eight education specialist degrees. Dr. Jeanne Daboval, provost and vice president of academic affairs at McNeese, will serve as master of ceremonies, recognize retiring faculty and confer degrees on candidates. The McNeese Wind Symphony, directed by Dr. Jay Jacobs, will perform the processional, national anthem and recessional. McNeese President Dr. Philip C.

Vernel McCullor, from left, and George Dewey lead the Golden Scholars at last year's spring commencement at McNeese State University. The Class of 1961 will be honored during the 2011 spring commencement ceremony at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 21, at Burton Coliseum. The Class of 1961 will be honored during the annual celebration of the McNeese State University Alumni Association's Golden Scholar Society on Friday and Saturday, May 20-21. These graduates attended McNeese when enrollment was 2,946 and the new Frazar Memorial Library opened.

The McNeese State University Chemistry Department is currently taking applications for a graduate fellowship in environmental and chemical sciences for certified Louisiana high school teachers for 2011-2013 beginning this fall. The recipient will be awarded a $26,500 graduate level fellowship funded by the Board of Regents' Support Fund. The fellowship includes tuition, most fees and a stipend award for fall 2011, spring 2012, summer 2012 and summer 2013. The teacher will take classes, perform research and teach a freshman chemistry lab section while working on the Master of Science degree in environmental and chemical sciences. Dr. Joseph Sneddon, McNeese chemistry professor and coordinator of the fellowship program, said there is a need for better-prepared science teachers in Louisiana.

National Nurses Week is May 6-12 Dr. Tari Dilks, associate professor of nursing at McNeese State University, has been named the Louisiana recipient of the 2011 State Award for Nurse Practitioner Excellence from the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners. The award, founded in 1991, recognizes a nurse practitioner from each state that demonstrates excellence in practice, research, nurse practitioner education or community affairs. The AANP will present the awards during its 26th National Conference June 22-26 in Las Vegas, Nev "Dr. Dilks is one of our distinguished McNeese nursing faculty who displays professionalism in all of her work-the classroom, graduate studies, her professional associations in nursing and the community," said Dr.

Twenty-six business students have been initiated into the McNeese State University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma Scholastic Business Honor Society. Phil D. Conway, managing director and head of Capital Advisory in the United States for the JPMorgan Private Bank, was the guest speaker for the initiation ceremony. Conway received his Bachelor of Science degree in business management from McNeese and was named the 2006 Distinguished Alumnus by the McNeese Alumni Association. Membership into Beta Gamma Sigma, which stands for honor, wisdom and earnestness respectively, is the highest national academic recognition that an undergraduate or graduate business student can receive.

McNeese students and a staff member received nine awards at the recent ADDY awards program sponsored by the Lake Charles Advertising Federation.

Louisiana Public Broadcasting will air a program on "The Role of Louisiana's Lt. Governor: Past, Present and Future," featuring former Louisiana Lieutenant Governors Bobby Freeman, Paul Hardy, Melinda Schwegmann, Kathleen Blanco and Jimmy Fitzmorris, at 6 p.m. and 11:30 p.m. Sunday, May 22, on LPB and at 9 p.m. Monday, May 23, on LPB 2. The program was held April 7 in Ralph Squires Auditorium at McNeese State University as part of the McLeod Lecture Series on Louisiana Politics in conjunction with the McNeese Banners Series. The lecture series honors the late Bill McLeod, a prominent retired district judge and former state legislator from Lake Charles.

Zachary Alcantara, a music education sophomore from Houston, Texas, at McNeese State University, has been accepted into the 2011 Rafael Méndez Brass Institute July 10-16 at the University of Denver Lamont School of Music. He received a full tuition scholarship and a stipend for housing. Honoring the legendary trumpet virtuoso, Rafael Méndez, the Rafael Méndez Brass Institute is the world's leading performance and career development seminar for brass musicians and educators. All participants perform in brass ensembles and master classes, coached by some of the foremost brass artists in the nation. Alcantara is a graduate of Langham Creek High School in Houston. At McNeese he is a member of The Pride of McNeese Marching Band, Wind Ensemble, Honors Brass Quintet and Trumpet Ensemble.