Skip to main content

News, Events, and More

The McNeese State University Honor Roll for the 2011 spring semester has been announced. The honor roll lists undergraduate students earning at least a 3.0 or B average while carrying 12 or more semester hours. Honor Roll is as follows: Lake Charles: Amelia Dawn Abshire, Darlena Gayle Abshire, Troy L. Abshire, Alicia Marie Adams, David K. Adeniran, Justin Ray Aguillard, Debora M. Taylor Alexander, Armondo Antoine Allen, Danielle Monique Allen, Amilya Yentel Allison, Mitchell L. Amy, Donavon D. Anderson, Sean M. Andrepont, Mary Elizabeth Ange, Brian Keith Antoine, Chance M. Arceneaux, Christine Renee Ardoin, Lannie Monee Wilson Ardoin, Andrew Armand, Jennifer L. Arceneaux Armentor, John Taylor Armistead, Joelle Lorene Arrington, Erica  M. Austin, Jessica Suzanne Austin, Lacey B.

Rodeo has been a part of McNeese since 1947 when the first rodeo team was formed.
The McNeese men's rodeo team won three consecutive national championships from 1957 to 1959 and has also included 10 men's and women's national individual rodeo championships and two reserve championships from 1958-2008.

The McNeese forensic team amassed a total of 140 awards this year at tournaments in Florida, Texas, Virginia, Connecticut (Yale), California, Ohio, Illinois, Missouri, Hawaii, Oregon and Nebraska.
The team won the overall team excellence award and placed 12th in the nation out of 86 schools represented at the 47th Bi-Annual Pi Kappa Delta National Tournament and Convention and the director of McNeese forensics received the Golden Gavel Award. A McNeese Senior became the first student from McNeese to make the final round of the recent American Forensics Association National Individual Events Tournament, placing second in the nation in Impromptu Speaking and third in the nation in Extemporaneous Speaking.

731 students received degrees at the University’s spring commencement on May 21 including 552 from Louisiana and 45 students from Texas.
Other states represented by the graduates include Florida, Mississippi, North Carolina, Arizona, California, Idaho, Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, South Dakota and Wyoming. The countries of Bolivia, China, Columbia, Ecuador, Ireland, Germany, Guinea, Korea, India, Indonesia, Lithuania, Mexico, Nepal, Palestine, Romania, Taiwan, Ukraine and Vietnam were also represented.

The annual summer Cowboy Camp offers incoming freshman a chance to meet other members of the Freshman Class and student leaders while learning more about McNeese history and traditions.
Campers get a behind the scenes tour of several facilities and have numerous chances to win over $1,000 in prizes including Bookstore scholarships. See the Campus Life website for more information

Dr. Philip C. Williams was formally installed as the sixth president of McNeese State University on November 14, 2010.
Previous presidents include Dr. Robert Hebert (1987-2010), Dr. Jack Doland (1980-87), Dr. Thomas Leary (1969-1980), Dr. Wayne Cusic (1955-1969) and Dr. Lether Frazar (1950-55).

“An Honest Day’s Work” the horse and rider statue at the entrance plaza is by artist Fred Fellows.
The cowboy is riding a Visalia saddle and has a 60-foot rawhide rope. Behind his saddle is his Fish brand slicker tied without folding to keep the wax coating from cracking. The hackamore on the young horse is complete with Fiador and Mecate. The cowboy wears G.S. Garcia spurs and shotgun leggings of the period. He has secured in his holster a .45 Colt single action pistol in an E.L. Gallatin holster and belt with five cartridges on each side. The horse is a typical ranch horse for the period with different conformation than today's modern quarter horse. Fellows wrote this about the statue "In the vast reaches of the American West the work ethic still exists. The man who makes his living on horses that are bound to buck, earns his pay.

McNeese State University faculty Dr. Anil K. Kandalam, left, assistant professor of physics, and Dr. Kiran Boggavarapu, assistant professor of chemistry, discuss the displayed model of the new class of magnetic superhalogens that they and some of their research colleagues have recently discovered.  McNeese Photo/Anne Cobb Two McNeese State University colleagues in chemistry and physics have collaborated with researchers at Virginia Commonwealth University and Johns Hopkins University to discover "magnetic superhalogens," a new class of superhalogens. Dr. Kiran Boggavarapu, assistant professor of chemistry, and Dr. Anil K.

At the recent unveiling ceremony are: back from left to right, Robert Chandler, IAB chairman, Global Industries, Ben Garber, IAB treasurer, W.R. Grace, Wejee Lechtenberg, IAB vice chairman, Lechtenberg Consulting, and Mike Nodier, Polaris Engineering; and front from left to right, Karl Heimbach, Firestone Polymers, Patricia Heinen, Sasol North America, Dr. O. Carroll Karkalits, Brenda Donnelly, Shell Global Industries, Joe Brewster, ConocoPhillips, and Alex Boti, ReCon Engineering Management. The McNeese State University College of Engineering and Engineering Technology Industrial Advisory Board has named the Faculty Excellence Award that it sponsors each year for a McNeese professor in honor of Dr. O.

Richard H. Reid, vice president for development and public affairs at McNeese State University and executive vice president of the McNeese Foundation, has been re-appointed to the President's Advisory Board of Directors for the Louisiana Asset Management Pool. LAMP operates under the Louisiana law as a cooperative endeavor to assist local state governmental entities in investment and is administered by a state non-profit corporation, LAMP Inc. Pratik Koirala, a physics senior at McNeese, has won several awards for his nanostructure research on superhalogens and hyperhalogens that he has worked on since his freshman year with McNeese faculty member Dr. Anil Kandalam, assistant professor of physics.