Dates: Aug 22, 29; Sep 5, 12, 19, 26; Oct 3, 10, 17, 24, 31; Nov 7, 14, 28; Dec 5, 12, 2018
Wednesdays from 6-9pm
SEED Center, McNeese State University, 4310 Ryan Street, Room 142
$599.00, includes course hanbouts (excluding textbook!)
This will be a "live" online class. McNeese will provide a classroom for students and the instructor will be projected onto an overhead screen.
You will be able to see and interact with the instructor in realtime. You can ask her any quetion you might have and she will be able to answer immediately.
This is a 16-session course, running every Wednesday night from 6 to 9 pm, beginning Aug 22 through Dec 12. This course provides preparation for Louisiana's state notary exam that is given no less than twice a year. Class discussions will focus on mortgages, conveyances, leases, contracts, legal descriptions, successions, wills, trusts, and community property regime. The Louisiana court system and the Notary Public's role within that system will be included in the discussion. Please note that successful preparation for the exam will require extensive reading outside of the classroom.
Required textbook: The Fundamentals of Louisiana Notarial Law and Practice exam study guide, available from the Secretary of State office at: https://www.sos.la.gov/NotaryAndCertifications/PrepareForTheNotaryExam/Pages/default.aspx.
**Student will need to order this textbook from the Secretary of State prior to the start of class!**
Total contact hours: forty-eight (48)
Instructor: Wendy Hilker
***IMPORTANT!!! The pre-assessment is mandatory before taking the exam through the Secretary of State. It must be taken no later than at least 37 days prior to the exam. Deadline to register for the state notary exam is 30 days prior to the exam. Complete information about the pre-assessment, the exam, can be found on the Secretary of State website. This is the link for the application to qualify for the pre-assessment: https://coraweb.sos.la.gov/Notary/ApplicationToQualify.aspx?Task=NotaryAppToQualify
**The deadline for registering and paying for this course will be Friday, August 17, by 4pm.**
· FEE: $599
· Visa, MasterCard or Discover accepted
· Attendees should bring pens (something to write with)
· Checks should be made payable to McNeese State University and mailed to the following address:]
McNeese State University
Institute for Industry-Education Collaboration
4310 Ryan Street, Box #160
Lake Charles, LA 70605
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Refund Policy: Refunds for non-attendance will be given if a written notification is received up to 5 working days prior to the first day of the course. No refunds will be given after that day. In the event that an attendee cannot attend, he/she is welcome to send another person as a a replacement at no charge or accept a credit for a future course.