Skip to content

McNeese Class of 1968 Golden Scholars to Be Honored

May 7, 2018 | McNeese Public Relations

McNeese State University’s Class of 1968 will be honored during the annual celebration of the McNeese Alumni Association’s Golden Scholars Society on Friday and Saturday, May 11-12.

To share in this celebration, the Class of 1968 has invited all previous Golden Scholars inductees to participate, according to Stephanie Clark, McNeese assistant director for alumni affairs.

“This is one of our favorite events that the McNeese Alumni Association sponsors. It’s truly amazing to meet our Golden Scholars, visit with them and hear their stories about campus life,” said Clark. “We enjoy spending the weekend reminiscing and celebrating all that they have accomplished in their 50 years since graduation.”

On Friday morning, May 11, the graduates will reunite at the President’s House for a reception. Later that evening, they will move to the Doland Field House for a dinner and an induction and pinning ceremony.

On Saturday, May 12, the 1968 graduates will wear gold robes and march in spring commencement at 10 a.m. in Burton Coliseum with the spring Class of 2018.

Those Golden Scholars being inducted are: Class of 1968 – Thomas R. Bahnsen, Vinton; Callen R. Bertrand, Humble, Texas; Barbara Lewis Darwish, Sulphur; Raymond J. “Jim” Evans, Lake Charles; James E. ”Ed” Green, Holden; Dr. Charles F. Jones, Houston, Texas; Ulysse W. “Wayne” Kershaw, Lake Charles; Laurine Elkins Marlow, College Station, Texas; James J. McGee, Lake Charles; Lt. Col. William “Bill” G. Mitchell, Tampa, Florida; Judith S. Reynolds, Iowa; Norman W. “Butch” Ryan, Iowa; Clayton G. Smith, Pasadena, California; Joycelyn M. Sonnier, Lake Charles; Linda A. White, Lake Charles; Barbara J. Williams, Arlington, Texas; Class of 1966 – Paula H. Green, Holden; and Class of 1958 – David L. Fournerat, Beaumont, Texas.