Skip to main content

People Briefs

People Briefs

(February 3, 2017) Two McNeese State University civil engineering students have been awarded $1,000 scholarships by the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development—Trent Hargrave, of Lake Arthur, and Matthew Mixon, of Moss Bluff.

"DOTD is delighted to support these well-deserving students in their academic endeavors,” said DOTD Secretary Dr. Shawn D. Wilson. “These future transportation leaders represent some of the best and brightest of Louisiana in the civil engineering field at six state universities and we hope these scholarships inspire them to achieve new heights.”

The awards are made possible by a scholarship program funded by the Southeastern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials in conjunction with the DOTD and the Louisiana Transportation Research Center. 

SASHTO scholarships are given each year to juniors and seniors in civil engineering in Louisiana universities with a professed interest in the transportation field.

The McNeese student chapter of the American Chemical Society has received a Commendable Award for activities conducted during the 2015-2016 academic year. Over 400 ACS student chapters submitted reports and the McNeese chapter was one of 93 commendable chapter recipients selected by the ACS Committee on Education. The McNeese chapter advisers were Paula McDonald and Dr. Omar Christian.

McNeese biology senior Caleb Ardizzone recently received the Best Undergraduate Student Poster award at the American Society for Microbiology South Central Branch Annual Meeting held at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Other biology students who presented posters were Sarah Deeb, Zahaan Eswani, Kaleb McDade and Tamylles Souza da Costa.

McNeese biology students Ardizzone, Victoria Hayes, Dakota Johnson and McDade, as well as faculty members Dr. William Dees, Dr. Caroline Hennigan and Dr. Christopher Struchtemeyer, authored or co-authored presentations at the annual meetings of the Mississippi Entomological Association in Starkville, Miss., and the Louisiana Mosquito Control Association in Baton Rouge. Ardizzone, Johnson and Dees also participated in the 25th International Congress of Entomology in Orlando, Fla.

Several McNeese nursing faculty and students made presentations at a recent one-day research conference hosted by the UL at Lafayette Sigma Theta Tau International Delta Eta Chapter. The conference was titled “Leading Change: Advancing Evidence-Based Practice Through Nursing Scholarship.”

McNeese nursing faculty Dr. Ann Warner, associate professor of nursing, and Jennifer Barrow, assistant professor of nursing, made a presentation titled, “The Relationship Among BSN Students’ Employment Characteristics and Semester Grades: A Multi-Site Study.” Other co-authors were McNeese faculty Anna Williams, clinical assistant professor of nursing, and Dr. Jennifer Berken, assistant professor of mathematical sciences; Dr. Angele Davis, Nicholls State University; Dr. Helen Hurst, UL at Lafayette; and Dr. Kristie Riddle, Southeastern Louisiana University.

Two nursing graduate students also made poster presentations. Jaime Elder presented “Unveiling the Rationales for Undiagnosed COPD,” while Noor Deeb presented “Assessment of Sexually Transmitted Disease Knowledge in College Students.”

Two McNeese forensic chemistry students, Kelsey Broussard and Sabrina Bonilla, were selected to participate in a recent Young Forensic Toxicologist Student Enrichment Program at the Society of Forensic Toxicologists meeting in Dallas, Texas. The program promotes education, networking and interaction among forensic toxicology practitioners and students. McNeese was the first university in the state to offer a concentration in forensics chemistry.

Dr. Henry B. Sirgo, McLeod Endowed Professor at McNeese, served on the Federalism and Intergovernmental Relations panel at the 2017 Meeting of the Southern Political Science Association in New Orleans.