Skip to main content

About the Faculty

About the Faculty

Department of Social Sciences

Our Purpose

The Department of Social Sciences is organized to offer curricula in Criminal Justice, Political Science, Paralegal Studies, and Sociology and to provide service courses in the social science fields for other departments in the University. The objectives of the department are:
  1. To offer every student an opportunity to broaden knowledge and increase understanding of the past and present of mankind's governmental and social endeavor, including studies in anthropology, geography, and philosophy.
  2. To provide students with a solid liberal arts course of study leading to a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science or Sociology or a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice and to prepare students for careers or for further graduate study in these areas.
  3. To provide specialized study leading to an Associate of Arts in Paralegal Studies.
  4. To offer minors in Criminal Justice, Political Science, Paralegal Studies, Philosophy, and Sociology for students who wish to acquaint themselves with these disciplines.

Department Head

Billy M. Turner, PhD

Lana Roberts - Administrative Assistant

Contacting Us

The Departmental Office is located in 102 Kaufman Hall.
Phone: 337-475-5166
Fax: 337-475-5973  

Individual faculty offices are found on the first and second floors of Kaufman Hall.


David Armstrong
Thomas Baril
Johannes Bulhof
Matthew Butkus
Carol Campbell
Gregory Clark
Genia Coleman-Lee
Todd Furman
Muhammad Haque
Rathnam Indurthy
Steven Rainey
Henry Sirgo
S. Greg Thompson
Steve Thompson
Billy Turner
Stan Weeber
Jamie Whelan

Individual faculty pages are under development.