Skip to main content

McNeese Theatre Presents "Louisiana Purchase"

McNeese Theatre Presents "Louisiana Purchase"

Louisiana Purchasing Co. Board of Directors
The Louisiana Purchasing Co. Board of Directors discuss how to get rid of Senator Loganberry who is attempting to put them in jail. From left, Captain Whitfield (Jonathon Richards), Jim Taylor (Jesse Merrill), Junior (Cameron Scallan), Col. Davis D. Davis Sr. (Randy Partin) and Dean Joseph T. Manning (Jean-Luc Waddle).

What better way to celebrate the Bicentennial of Louisiana statehood than a musical theatre comedy production set in New Orleans in 1940 - "Louisiana Purchase" - by the McNeese State University Theatre Bayou Players?

"Louisiana Purchase," with songs and lyrics by the great American composer Irving Berlin and book by Morrie Ryskind, will be presented at 7:30 p.m. April 25-28, with a 2 p.m. matinee April 29 in the Shearman Fine Arts Theatre.

The show opened on Broadway in 1940 and then was adapted into a film production in 1941 starring comedian Bob Hope. This production was based on a story by producer B.G. De Sylva that was a thinly veiled satire on the Huey Long machine in Louisiana.
The plot could have been ripped from today's headlines - a bumbling young politician gets caught in an investigation on corruption. Louisiana state representative Jim Taylor is framed by his business partners to take the rap for a graft investigation that Sen. Oliver P. Loganberry, a New Hampshire Republican, is launching against their Louisiana Purchasing Co. and whose efforts at reform only end up getting him in hot water as well. Loganberry solves his own problems by marrying Madam Bordelaise, the temptress who'd been sent out to place him in a compromising position, forcing Taylor to straighten out the mess himself in a hilarious climactic courtroom filibuster.

Cast members and positions include:
Alicia Adams - Dana, ensemble member
Kevin Delaney - Sam Liebowitz, entertainment contract lawyer; Alphonse, headwaiter at Madame Bordelaise's Café in New Orleans; George, ensemble member
Ronald Doyle - restaurant customer, Mardi Gras guest, poster carrier
Jeremy Floyd - restaurant customer, Mardi Gras guest, poster carrier
SuzAnne Hieronymus - Connie, quartet/ensemble member
Patrick Kelly - Sen. Oliver P. Loganberry from New Hampshire
Emily Looney - Marina Van Linden
Jesse Merrill - Jim Taylor
Colten Miller - Lee Davis, the younger son of Col. Davis D. Davis Sr.
Randy Partin - Col. Davis D. Davis Sr.
Hanna Philly - Marilyn, ensemble member
Jonathon Richards - Captain Whitfield, captain of the New Orleans Police
Kelly Rowland - Carol, quartet/ensemble member; understudy for Beatrice
Wesley Saucier - Beatrice, a waitress in Madame Bordelaise's café
Cameron Scallan, Junior, oldest son of Col. Davis D. Davis Sr.
Hayley Smith - Madame Yvonne Bordelaise, proprietress of a New Orleans café
Analynn Sober - Jane, secretary and quartet/ensemble member
Kyla Standley - Joan, ensemble member
Megan Voorhies - Emmy-Lou, the niece of Jim Taylor
Jean Luc Waddle - Dean Joseph T. Manning of "The University"
Kylie Welch - Cathy, ensemble member
Crew members include:         
Bianca Anderson, costumer
Brian Austin, sound operator
Elyssa Constance, backstage crew
Ronnie Doyle, AMS/backstage crew
Jeremy Floyd, backstage crew
Elise Hamilton, stage manager
Sierra Jones, costumer
Norman Knight, lighting designer
William Lormand, AMS/backstage crew
Chris Reeves, light board operator
Jonathan Richards, assistant scenic designer 

Production staff includes:
Michele Martin, stage director
Shannon Miller, technical director/scenic designer
Dr. Darryl Jones, music director and conductor
Yiseul Kim, production accompanist/pit
Libby Looney, production choreographer
Joy Pace, costume design supervisor

The box office opens at 6 p.m. Friday, April 20. Ticket prices are $20 for adults, $10 for McNeese faculty/staff, senior citizens and students and free for McNeese students with a current ID. For tickets, call 337-475-5043 or go online to purchase tickets at

Persons needing accommodations as provided by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the ADA Coordinator at 337-475-5428, voice; 337-475-5960, fax; 337-562-4227, TDD/TTY, hearing impaired; or by email at