Skip to main content

McNeese People Briefs

McNeese People Briefs

Richard ReidRichard H. Reid, vice president for development and public affairs at McNeese State University and executive vice president of the McNeese Foundation, has been re-appointed to the President's Advisory Board of Directors for the Louisiana Asset Management Pool. LAMP operates under the Louisiana law as a cooperative endeavor to assist local state governmental entities in investment and is administered by a state non-profit corporation, LAMP Inc.

Pratik Koirala, a physics senior at McNeese, has won several awards for his nanostructure research on superhalogens and hyperhalogens that he has worked on since his freshman year with McNeese faculty member Dr. Anil Kandalam, assistant professor of physics. He won first place in the inaugural University of Houston Symposium for Undergraduates in Physics and won the Best Undergraduate Oral Presentation in Chemistry, Physics and Earth Science at the 85th annual meeting of the Louisiana Academy of Sciences both for his topic - "Superhalogen Properties of Coinage Metal Fluoride Clusters."

Two McNeese faculty were honored at the 26th annual conference of the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Educators. Dr. Daniel Norris, assistant professor of educational leadership and instructional technology, was awarded the 2010 state "Teacher of the Year" award for post-secondary educators. At McNeese, he has distinguished himself as an innovative technologist and proficient teacher. Dr. Dustin Hebert, assistant professor of education, was honored with Region V's "Special Person" award for service to technology and technology education.

Janet Allured, associate professor of history at McNeese, presented a paper at the annual meeting of the Organization of American Historians in Houston, Texas. Her paper, "The Second Wave in Louisiana," was part of a panel titled "The Second Wave Women's Movement in the South: The Cases of Louisiana, Texas and Virginia."

She has also been elected vice president of the Louisiana Historical Association and has been inducted into the Society of Fellows of the LHA, an award given for distinguished service to the association.

Dr. Rathnam Indurthy, professor of government at McNeese, has had an article titled "The Revival of Agitation for a Separate Telegana State and Its Implications for the State and Nation (India)" accepted for publication in the Indian Journal of Politics published by Aligarh Muslim University. The paper discusses demand of a people of a less developed region in the state of Andhra Pradesh in India for a separate statehood and its implications for the country's unity and integrity.

Dr. Mark Wygoda, head of the department of biology and health sciences at McNeese, gave an invited presentation to the Marine Ecology Research Society at the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Fla., on "Resistance of Evaporative Water Loss in the World's Only Marine Amphibian, the Crab-Eating Frog (Fejervarya cancrivora)."

Dr. William Dees, associate professor of biological science at McNeese, co-authored an article with McNeese biology student, Aaron Figueroa, titled "An Inexpensive, Versatile Mosquito Rearing Chamber for Field, Laboratory and Classroom Investigators" that was published in a recent issue of the Journal of the American Mosquito Control Association. Dees is working with Dr. Tracy Scott-McLemore, associate professor of teacher education, to provide information from the article to area science teachers as a teaching tool for K-12 science classrooms.

Dees and McNeese students Camille Abshire-Degrado, Tod Guidry and Irvin Louque made a presentation on field studies of mosquitoes conducted in Calasieu Parish at the 53rd Annual Louisiana Mosquito Control Association Meeting in Baton Rouge.

Several McNeese faculty and students in the Department of Biology and Health Sciences participated in the 85th Annual Meeting of the Louisiana Academy of Sciences at the University of Louisiana at Monroe. Biology students presenting their research were Guidry, Abshire-Degrado, Louque, Michael Authement, Alan Shudes, Katarina Caraway, Megan Dominque, Taylor Wood and Jessica Choate. Faculty members presenting were Dees, Wygoda, Dr. Constance Kersten, Dr. Juliana Hinton, Dr. Harry Meyer, Dr. Justin Hoffman and Dr. Christopher Kirkhoff.