Skip to main content
Learn More

McNeese Website Documentation

Using & Managing Workflow

Using & Managing Workflow

Workflow States

Workflow is used on the McNeese website to control how content gets published and if a given content is allowed to be published. What a user is and is not allowed to do is directly related to the workflow state. Users must understand what each workflow state's purpose is and what those states are meant to be used for. This is of particular importance in terms of accessibility compliance given that, in accordance to U.S. Federal law, content cannot and will not be published if it fails certain accessibility criteria. The workflow is broken into the following states:

Information Section, Left Side
Using & Managing Workflow - Image 1
Information Section, Right Side
Using & Managing Workflow - Image 2
  • Draft

    Draft is the default state for all unpublished content. Content in this workflow state is considered not-ready for publishing and not ready for review. Draft content may transition into:

    • Needs Review
    • Needs Validation
  • Needs Work

    The needs work state is similar to the draft state with the exception that a problem has been found that prevents the content in question from being published. The most common case is when content fails accessibility validation due to some sort of major accessibility violation. Some content may require needs review before it can be published and so some users will not be allowed to transition to needs validation. Needs work content may transition into:

    • Draft
    • Needs Review
    • Needs Validation
  • Needs Review

    Content may be required to be approved by some user before it may be published. The needs review state represents a request for review so that content may be published. Reviewers may only transition content to either needs work or needs validation. Reviewers usually cannot edit content. Needs review content may transition into:

    • Draft
    • Needs Work
    • Needs Validation
  • Needs Validation

    In accordance to U.S. Federal law, all content published on www.mcneese.edu must be made accessible. All content must be placed in this state before that content can become published. Most users are not allowed to change the transition state for needs validation content. When content is placed in this state it will be auto-scanned for accessibility issues and if there are no major issues, then the content will immediately be place into the published state. If content fails validation due to major accessibility issues, then that content will be immediately placed into the needs work state and an alert will be presented to the user. A person may manually validate their content by visiting the moderation tab and selecting the accessibility link for a specific revision. Sitewide accessibility statistics are available to all logged in users at www.mcneese.edu/admin/content/accessibility/node_statistics. Read the Web Accessibility documentation for details on what accessibility is. Needs validation content may transition into:

    • Draft
    • Needs Work
    • Needs Review
    • Published
  • Published

    Content in this state is published content. When content transitions into this state then that content also becomes live. Published content may not transition into any other state. If a user does not want some content to be published, they must either unpublished that revision (if authorization allows such), revert an older revision, create a new draft and submit it for publishing, or delete that content.

Manging Workflow States

Content that is created for the first time is automatically placed in the draft state (Unless Auto-Validate Drafts is enabled in the user's profile). For all other content, the states must be transitioned by the appropriate users. On each page there exists a workflow tab that will direct users to the content's workflow moderation page. The workflow page provides a table of revisions that represents all changes made to the content and all transitions the content has undergone. On the far right of each row are two important columns:

  1. Actions
  2. Workflow Log

The actions column provides a collection of links used to perform administrative and management tasks such as viewing a particular revision, viewing accessibility statistics for a particular revision, and even reverting a given revision. For administrative users there may even be the ability to delete individual revisions, but this is considered bad practice.

The workflow column provides a history of the moderation state changes and a distinction between live content and otherwise. This column will designate which row is the current revision (and the current state of that revision) and which row is the published revision.

Managing workflow screenshot #1
Using & Managing Workflow - Image 3

Terminology

Content
Content is a general term designating some collection of text, images, and media. In general, content can be consired a page but it usually refers to the body region of a given page. See the Basic Usage website documentation for details about what the body region is. Another name for content is node.
Live
Live content is the most recent published version of some content. If there is no published version of some content, then live refers to the most recent unpublished version of some content. See also published.
Node
The term node is often used in conjunction with some number to uniquely refer to some collection of text, images, and media. See also Content.
Published
Content can be either published or unpublished. Content that is published is content that is visible for the world to see. Published content is considered the official copy. See also live.
Unpublished
Content can be either published or unpublished. Content that is unpublished is any content that is not officially designated See also live.
Workflow
The workflow is a logical series of states used to control the visibility and editability of content or to communicate to users that some action needs to be taken.