Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff (College of Business)

Faculty & Staff (College of Business)

Dr. Musa
Dr. Musa Essayyad
messayyad@mcneese.edu

Professor of Finance. He received his M.A. and Ph.D. in finance from the University of Alabama. He held diverse academic, business and governmental positions in the U.S., U.K., Switzerland, Russia, Lebanon, Kuwait, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia. He has held endowed chair professorships for 24 years, and taught courses in corporate finance, investment management, international finance, and oil and gas finance. He has worked for corporations and intergovernmental organizations including the World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Getty Oil Company, OPEC, and the International Fund for Agricultural Development.
Dr. Mitchell Adrian
madrian@mcneese.edu

Professor of Management and McNeese State University Vice President. He received his B.S. from McNeese, M.B.A. from Midwestern State University, and D.B.A. from Mississippi State University. He published extensively in various refereed business journals and proceedings. He is active in building community relations and forming business alliances. He served as department head and dean. He holds the JP Morgan Chase Bank Endowed Professorship. He received the college awards in business community engagement and research leadership.
Dr. Daryl Burckel
dburckel@mcneese.edu

Professor of Accounting and McNeese State University President. He received his B.S. and M.B.A. from McNeese State University; and his D.B.A. from Mississippi State University. He is C.P.A. and C.V.A. He has authored numerous refereed journal articles and commendable professional papers. He is very active in economic development consulting. He teaches federal taxes and management decisions. He held many endowed professorships.
Dr. Stephen Caples
scaples@mcneese.edu

Professor of Finance. He received his B.A. from Lake Superior State College; M.B.A. from Louisiana Tech University; and Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Arlington. He published numerous articles in refereed finance and real estate journals. He is actively involved in consulting projects in forensic finance. Dr. Caples teaches financial management policies and real estate finance. He holds the Louisiana Real Estate Commission Endowed Professorship.
Dr. Jim Chen
jschen@mcneese.edu

Associate Professor of Management. He received his B.I.T. from Soochow University in Taiwan; M.B.A. from the University of Rhode Island, and Ph.D. from the University of Memphis. His research interests include host country’s national commitment, the impact of international conflict on international management, and top management team. He teaches leadership, diversity, global business, and organizational behavior. He received many endowed professorships in business at McNeese College of Business.
Dr. William Galose
wgalose@mcneese.edu

Instructor of Economics. He received his B.A. in Biology from Youngstown State University; J.D. from the University of Southern California; and M.S. and Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Oregon. Dr. Galose teaches undergraduate courses in microeconomics, macroeconomics, and international trade. His interdisciplinary research interests include environmental economics, and, law and economics.
Dr. Jens
Dr. Bill Jens
wjens@mcneese.edu

Associate Professor of Accounting and Accounting, Finance, and Economics Department Head. He received his Ph.D. in Finance from the University of Central Florida. He has extensive business background as a former Fortune 500 Vice-President, CFO of a NASDAQ listed company, divisional president and board member. He has many publications and conference presentations from a diverse range of topics including banking, capital structure, and tax issues. He teaches “Accounting Information for Decision Making” and “Corporate Reporting and Analysis”. He received many endowed professorships at McNeese College of Business.
Dr. Banamber Mishra
bmishra@mcneese.edu

Professor of Finance and MBA Director. He received his B.A. from Ravenshaw College, India; M.S. from Jawaharlal Nehru University, India; and M.A., and Ph.D. from the University of Alabama. He has published a number of articles in refereed economics, finance and business journals including presentations of scholarly papers in professional conferences. He teaches corporate finance, investment management, and insurance. He received the Teacher of the Year Award and many endowed professorships at McNeese College of Business.
Dr. Mercy Palamuleni
mpalamuleni@mcneese.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics. She received her B.S. from Wake Forest University and her Ph.D. from Kansas State University. Her research and teaching interests are macroeconomics, economic development, applied econometrics, and labor economics. She received many meritorious scholarship and awards including the UN University World Institute for Development Economics Research.
Dr. Lonnie Phelps
ldphelps@mcneese.edu

Professor of Management and Interim Dean of the College of Business. He received his B.S.B.A. from Henderson State College, M.B.A. from Arkansas State, and D.B.A. from Louisiana Tech. His research interests include business ethics, corporate social responsibility and work-life balance issues. He teaches management principles and business ethics/corporate social responsibility. He has been Head of the Department of Management, Marketing and Business Administration for more than fifteen years.
Dr. Rahman
Dr. Matiur Rahman
mrahman@mcneese.edu

Professor of Finance. He received his B.A. and M.A. from Dhaka University; M.A. from Boston University; and M.A. and Ph.D. from Southern Methodist University. He has published widely in reputed refereed journals. He was Deputy Director of Research at the Central Bank and worked as advisor to Japan External Trade Organization in Bangladesh. He worked at the World Bank and International Monetary Fund under the Ford Foundation Scholarship program. He teaches money and banking, international financial management, and portfolio management. For many years he has received the Research Leader of the Year Award, and received many Endowed Professorships at McNeese College of Business
Dr. Jeffery Stevens
jstevens@mcneese.edu

Assistant Professor of Management/Entrepreneurship. He received his B.A. in History from the University of Texas at San Antonio, M.A. in Management from Webster University, and Ph.D. in Human Development from Texas A&M University. He joined the University of Florida for Post Doctorate Bridge Program in Entrepreneurship. He teaches and conducts research in management and entrepreneurship. He received the College of Business Pinnacle Excellence Award and Professorship in Calcasieu Parish Economic Development.
Dr. Totten
Dr. Jeffrey W. Totten
jtotten@mcneese.edu

Associate Professor of Marketing. He received B.S. and M.B.A. from Northwestern State University, and D.B.A. from Louisiana Tech University. He is a Professional Certified Marketer. He has published extensively in several refereed professional business journals. He teaches marketing innovation, integrated communications, retail management, and personal selling. Dr. Totten was awarded the Pinnacle Award and Endowed Professorships at McNeese College of Business.
Dr. Turpin
Dr. Lonnie Turpin
lturpin@mcneese.edu

Assistant Professor of Quantitative Methods/Operations/Statistics and Management, Marketing, and Business Administration Department Head. Dr. Turpin received his industrial engineering doctorate from Lamar University and B.S. and MBA from McNeese. His research interests focus on logic-based mathematical modeling applications in operations research, and its integration with management analytics and operations management. He received the College of Business Teacher of the Year Award in 2014 and 2015.
Olga Watts.jpg
Ms. Olga Watts
owatts@mcneese.edu

Instructor of Accounting.She received her B.S. and M.B.A. from McNeese State University. She is a Certified Public Accountant. In additation to financial and managerial accounting, she taught fornesic accounting in the past. Now she teaches financial and managerial accounting, and Auditing. She served as an Internal Auditor at McNeese in 1999.
Dr. Kay Zekany
kzekany@mcneese.edu

Assistant Professor of Accounting. She received her B.S., and Master of Accountancy from Miami University, and Ph.D. in accounting from the University of South Carolina. She teaches financial, managerial, and advanced accounting. She received many awards including the professor challenge, capital market simulation, CapSim; the 1st Place of being faculty mentor at Ohio Northern University.
Dr. Teng Zhang
tzhang@mcnees.edu

Assistant Professor of Management. He received his B.A. in English from Xi’an Jiaotong University in China, his M.A. from the University of Maryland, and his Ph.D. in Business Adminsitration from the University of Utah’s Eccles School of Business. His teaching interests are: organizational behavior, ethics, negotiation, and cross-cultural organizational behavior. His research interests are: moral judgment and ethical decision marking in organizations, negotiation, and power and status in organization.

Part-Time Faculty: Visiting Lecturers

Heather L. Budden, Management
hbudden@mcneese.edu
Kerri L. Courville, Human Resource Management
kcourville@mcneese.edu
Robert Gani, Accounting
rgani@mcnees.edu
Janell Johnson, Human Resource Management
jjohnson1@mcneese.edu
Dr. C. Martin Konou, Economics
ckonou@mcneese.edu
Dr. Elaine J. Labach, Management
elabach@mcneese.edu
Dr. Mostafa Malki, Economics and Finance
mmalki@mcneese.edu
Toni Lynn Petrofes, Legal Environment
tpetrofes@mcneese.edu
Ronald Premuroso, Accounting
rpremuroso@mcneese.edu
James E. Sudduth, III, Legal Environment
jsudduth@mcneese.edu

Small Business Development Center

Donna Little, Director, McNeese Small Business Development Center
dlittle@mcneese.edu
Jessica Guillory, Administrative Manager and Training Coordinator at the McNeese Small Business Development Center
jguillory2@mcneese.edu
Susan Thibodeaux
Susan Thibodeaux
sthibodeaux1@mcneese.edu

Susan Thibodeaux has many years of lending experience. Susan began her financial career at First Federal when it was still a Savings and Loan institution. In lending, she has worked as Branch Manager, Quality Control Manager, Assistant Manager, and Loan Originator.
Rounding out her business experience, she has also been Office Administrator, Accounts Receivable/Payable Clerk, Teller Supervisor and Payroll Accountant. One of the characteristics that Susan brings to her role as Business Consultant is that of a hands-on business owner. In 1993, with the help of the LSBDC, she opened a mortgage company in Lake Charles. She managed as many as eight employees and was a broker for over $400,000,000 in mortgages.
Susan joined the LSBDC at McNeese's team in September 2014. She has lived the majority of her life in the Lake Charles area. She earned a B.S. in Finance in 1991 from McNeese State University. Susan is married with two grown children, Justin and Katelyn.
She has firsthand knowledge of the vast resources LSBDC can offer small business owners, and has practical experience to help an entrepreneur start, grow and expand a business. Susan was named the 2017 Louisiana SBDC State Star, an honor that recognizes her outstanding work.

The H.C. Drew Center for Business & Economic Analysis

Chandrakala Satyal, Graduate Research Assistant, H.C. Drew Center for Business & Economic Analysis